Trouble with images? View as a Web page.

Share this article:

Facebook Twitter More...
Polsinelli - Labor and Employment
         
 

October 2013

 

SEC Releases Long-Awaited Proposed Crowdfunding Rules

 
 
             
 

For more information about this e-Alert, please contact:

 

William M. Mahood III

816.360.4650

wmahood@polsinelli.com

 

Zachary A. Abeles

816.889.7035

zabeles@polsinelli.com

 

Charles R. Berry

314.622.6695

cberry@polsinelli.com

 

Donald E. Figliulo

312.463.6311

dfigliulo@polsinelli.com

 

Evan M. Gilbert

602.650.2084

egilbert@polsinelli.com

 

Tracey M. Ginn

310.203.5304

tginn@polsinelli.com

 

Phillip P. Guttilla

602.650.2327

pguttilla@polsinelli.com

 

Darren R. Hensley

303.583.8236

dhensley@polsinelli.com

 

Scott M. Herpich

816.360.4150

sherpich@polsinelli.com

 

Jay E. Pietig

816.360.4183

jpietig@polsinelli.com

 

Michael D. Rosenthal

312.463.6318

mrosenthal@polsinelli.com

 

William M. Schutte

816.360.4115

wschutte@polsinelli.com

 

Peter F. Waltz

303.583.8254

pwaltz@polsinelli.com

 

 

To learn more about our Corporate Finance and Securities practice, or to contact one of our Corporate Finance and Securities attorneys, click here.

 

To learn more about our Corporate and Transactional practice, or to contact one of our Corporate and Transactional attorneys, click here.

 

View Polsinelli documents on JD Supra  
LinkedIn Twitter Facebook Inside Law Podcast Connect with us on LinkedIn. Connection with us on Twitter. Connect with us on Facebook. Connect with us on LinkedIn. Connection with us on Twitter. Connect with us on Facebook. Connect with us on LinkedIn. Connection with us on Twitter. Connect with us on Facebook.
   

On October 23, 2013 the SEC proposed rules that if adopted would permit startups and small businesses to raise capital by publicly offering and selling securities through crowdfunding without registering the transactions with the SEC or a state securities regulator. Under the proposed crowdfunding rules:

  • Small businesses would be able to raise up to $1 million per year from accredited or non-accredited investors.

  • The SEC imposed various requirements on companies and investors that wish to participate in a crowdfunding offering, such as eligible investors would need to meet certain income or net worth thresholds, and those investors would be limited in the total amount they may invest in all crowdfunding offerings. In addition, companies would be required to file certain written information with the SEC as part of the offering (including financial statements), disclose that information to prospective investors, and after completion of the offering file annual reports with the SEC.

  • A crowdfunding offering would be required to take place exclusively through an SEC-registered intermediary (either a broker-dealer or a funding portal), which would be subject to certain obligations and restrictions, including being:

    • required to provide investors with educational materials and communication channels to discuss offerings on the intermediary's platforms; and

    • prohibited from providing investment advice or engaging in certain other related activities.

There is a 90 day period in which persons may submit comments on the proposed crowdfunding rules. If adopted, the final rules will likely not be effective until the late spring or summer of 2014. Until the SEC adopts final crowdfunding rules, and those rules become effective, issuers and intermediaries may not rely on the proposed crowdfunding exemptions.

We are working on a more detailed client alert that will explain the proposed new rules and their potential implications in greater detail. Please watch for our alert in the coming days. In the meantime, if you have any questions regarding these new rules or the securities laws in general, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

 

More on polsinelli.com

 
             

             
 

Chicago  Dallas  Denver  Kansas City  Los Angeles  New York  Phoenix  St. Louis  Washington, D.C.  Wilmington
www.polsinelli.com

 
             
 
 

ABOUT POLSINELLI

real challenges. real answers.SM  
Serving corporations, institutions, entrepreneurs, and individuals, our attorneys build enduring relationships by providing legal counsel informed by business insight to help clients achieve their objectives. This commitment to understanding our clients' businesses has helped us become the fastest growing law firm in the U.S. for the past five years, according to the leading legal business and law firm publication,
The American Lawyer. Our more than 680 attorneys in 17 cities work with clients nationally to address the challenges of their roles in health care, financial services, real estate, life sciences and technology, energy and business litigation. The firm can be found online at www.polsinelli.com. Polsinelli PC. In California, Polsinelli LLP.

 
 
             
 

To update your email preferences, please contact Kim Auther at KAuther@polsinelli.com. To opt out of these communications, click the unsubscribe link below.

Polsinelli provides this material for informational purposes only. The material provided herein is general and is not intended to be legal advice. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements.

Copyright © 2013 Polsinelli PC.

 
             
Connect with us on LinkedIn. Connection with us on Twitter. Connect with us on Facebook.